My Battle Buddy

The winds of the Chesapeake had battered my cheeks leaving them numb. I crept my frozen body into the sleeping bag and nestled into my cot. After finishing guard duty in Aberdeen, Maryland I longed for respite amidst the stuffy, camouflaged tent of 3rd Platoon. I drifted off into that first stage of sleep, my body still winding down, when the butt of a rifle struck my leg firmly. I pretended to ignore it, defining it as a leg spasm, but the striking grew more persistent.

I pulled down the opening of my cocoon to eye level to see what the disturbance was. It was my battle buddy requesting I accompany him to the latrine.

Now before you get any ideas, in the Army you are assigned a permanent teammate, or “battle buddy” that is to be your accountability partner. This man is to go with you everywhere to watch your back. So that means if your battle buddy has to pull an all night guard duty outside at the main gate, with the temperature below zero, than guess who will be joining him? No matter how much my body objected, I was obligated to go with him.

As  he slung his rifle over his shoulder and began relieving himself, I stood outside the rancid port a potty with my weapon in hand as I watched his six. As uncomfortable as I was, I knew the importance of having a good battle buddy. In war, it could mean life or death.

Those days of training for combat are over. These days I’m in a new warfare. A spiritual one. The Lord has blessed me with the best battle buddy of all; my wife.

The word of God talks about the importance of a battle buddy. Examine Solomon’s words in Ecclesiastes 4:9-12, “Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up. Again, if two lie together then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone? And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.”

Working together as a team with my wife is rewarding, because we learn more about one another’s strengths and weaknesses. When I stumble, or may be having a difficult time spiritually, my wife is swift to encourage and edify me. When I’m tried and tested to the breaking point, she is there to support me. Through prayer she helps restore me.

The threefold cord Solomon spoke of is an excellent expression of the unity of marriage. The cord is made up of you, your spouse, and Jesus, and that is a cord not quickly broken. Nothing can separate that bond (Romans 8:37-39)

My battle buddy has my back, and I safely trust in her. (Proverbs 31:11) I trust in her as she trusts in Him!

Leave a Reply

